Anglesey Coastal Path

The Anglesey Coastal Path is a waymarked path all around the coast of Anglesey and Holy Island, thus circling the county.  Of all the county boundary paths so far devised, this is possibly the closest to matching the exact boundary, since the whole county border of Anglesey is its coastline.

The path is 125 miles long, every mile of it in scenery to charm the senses.  The walker will meet on the route some of Anglesey’s rich farmland, its coastal heaths, sand dunes, salt-marsh, foreshore, cliffs and in places some pockets of woodland. It passes through the Newborough Warren National Nature Reserve.

The route was designed on behalf of the local authority, who promote it.  While it can we walked in either direction and from any point of the coast, the “official” start and end point is St Cybi’s church in the town named after it, Holyhead (‘Caergybi’).  The council has divided the route into twelve easy sections:

  1. Holyhead to Porth Trwyn (12½ miles)
  2. Porth Trwyn to Cemaes (12 miles)
  3. Cemaes to Amlwch Port (7½ miles)
  4. Amlwch Port to Moelfre (12½ miles)
  5. Moelfre to Pentraeth (6 miles)
  6. Pentraeth to Beaumaris (12½ miles)
  7. Beaumaris to Moel y Don (7½ miles)
  8. Moel y Don to Llyn Rhos Ddu (7½ miles)
  9. Llyn Rhos Ddu to Aberffraw (13 miles)
  10. Aberffraw to Four Mile Bridge (13¾ miles)
  11. Four Mile Bridge to Trearddur (8¾ miles)
  12. Trearddur to Holyhead (12 miles)

Route map